Latest News & Article

Presidential election Live: Voting begins in Presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind and Meira Kumar

Source : 1   On   17 Jul 2017
Home   >   All Articles  >   Presidential election Live: Voting begins in Presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind and Meira Kumar
Presidential election Live: Voting begins in Presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind and Meira Kumar

India's chosen MLAs and MPs will vote to choose the following President on Monday.

BJP-led NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind seems to have the favorable position against his opponent Meira Kumar, a previous Lok Sabha Speaker, and the opposition’s nominee.

The voting will be held in the vicinity of 10 am and 5 pm. Paper votes will be utilized as a part of the presidential decision and the votes will be substantial just if the unique violet ink pen is utilized to vote.

The appointive school of the presidential decision includes 4,120 MLAs and 776 MPs with an aggregate vote estimation of 10,98,903 - 549,408 for 543 Lok Sabha and 233 Rajya Sabha parliamentarians, and 549,495 for 4,120 officials in state assemblies.

The halfway mark is required to be 549,442, however, that will rely upon the number of substantial votes.

Kovind is required to accumulate over 70% of the votes as the NDA appreciates an animal greater part in the Lok Sabha and in likewise 17 states.

Here are live updates:

10.28am: BSP president Mayawati stated: "Regardless of who wins, President will be from Scheduled Caste. The Colossal triumph for our movement and party.”

10.25am: On Samajwadi Party official's Shivpal Yadav's open help for NDA presidential hopeful Kovind, Uttar Pradesh chief minister Kesav Prasad Maurya stated, "He is generally welcome".

10.20am: MLAs line up at Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly to cast their votes in the presidential decision.

10.15am: PM Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah cast their votes at the Parliament.

10.10am: Voting starts at the UP Assembly in Lucknow in the midst of uplifted security following revelation of PETN (dangerous) in Vidhan Sabha on July 12.

10.09am: MPs start to make choice in the presidential decision in the Parliament.

10.08am: PM Modi says "Becoming Stronger Together" is the other name for GST. "GST demonstrates the great that can be accomplished when all gatherings meet up and work for the country," PM tweeted.

10.07am: BJP president Amit Shah, a lawmaker from Gujarat, lands at the Parliament to vote in the presidential race.

10.05am: Prime Minister Narendra Modi talks in front of storm session. "This storm session is uncommon on the grounds that we have a chance to choose the following President and VP," says the PM.

9.57am: Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath will be among the principal legislators to vote at the UP get together in Lucknow.

9.50am: Preparations are in progress at Karnataka Legislative Assembly in Bengaluru in front of the presidential race.

9.40am: Union pastor Venkaiah Naidu said NDA presidential applicant "Slam Nath Kovind ji will win with an agreeable and respectable edge".

9.33am: Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah to cast their votes at 10 am in the Parliament, news organization ANI tweeted.

9.20am: BSP chief Mayawati and Akhilesh Yadav (however he himself is not a voter as he is a MLC) are supporting Meira Kumar while the Mulayam-Shivpal group is stretching out help to Kovind.

9.15am: Uttar Pradesh has a sum of 403 MLAs. Of these, BJP and partners incorporate 325 administrators, SP 47, BSP 19, Congress 7, RLD 1 and NISHAD 1. There are three free MLAs.

9am: Of the aggregate estimation of 10,96,004 votes, the restriction is peering toward around 400,000 and furthermore is confident of cross-voting without a gathering whip. The restriction parties are finding a way to guarantee there officials don't vote in favor of Kovind.

8.53am: BJP supporters perform "hawan" at Varanasi for NDA's presidential chosen one Ram Nath Kovind's triumph.

8.45am: Rehearsal has started for the swearing-in service of the new President at Delhi's Vijay Chowk.

8.34am: Leaders of opposition parties to meet at 10am in the Parliament: ANI

8.25am: How opposition parties stand

Aside from the JD(U), the Telangana Rashtra Samithi, the YSR Congress Party, the two groups of the AIADMK and the Biju Janata Dal have stretched out help to Kovind.

With the Samajwadi Party still an isolated house, its two groups are probably going to vote in favor of two distinct applicants amid the presidential race.

8.20am: Here's what Congress president Sonia Gandhi said

A day prior to the presidential decision, Congress boss Sonia Gandhi depicted on Sunday the challenge as a battle against a "biased, disruptive and collective vision".

Tending to opposition leaders within the sight of their presidential and bad habit presidential candidates - Meira Kumar and Gopal Krishna Gandhi, the Congress president advised members to "battle the fight and contend energetically" in spite of the decision regulation apparently having a numerical preferred standpoint.

8.15am: PM Modi Congratulates Kovind 'ahead of time'

Prime Minister Narendra Modi praised NDA presidential applicant Ram Nath Kovind "ahead of time" and guaranteed him of his administration's help, a day prior to the decision to the best protected post.

Modi named the "absence of sharpness" in the survey crusade as an indication of development in the Indian majority rules system.